2022-2023 CBL Research Scholars Selected

Front row (seated from left to right): Alexa Mitka, Jasmine Dinari, Varshini Murugesh, Charmaine Nieves
Back row (left to right): Drshika Asher, Victoria Kindratenko, Maya Grant, Jiho Kahng

The Grainger College of Engineering Clare Boothe Luce (CBL) Research Scholars program is pleased to announce its 3rd cohort of recipients of the prestigious undergraduate research awards. Our 2022-2023 CBL scholars are Drshika Asher (Computer Science), Jasmine Dinari (Nuclear, Plasma, & Radiological Engineering), Maya Grant (Mechanical Engineering), Jiho Kahng (Engineering Physics), Victoria Kindratenko (Bioengineering), Alexa Mitka (Bioengineering), Varshini Murugesh (Bioengineering), and Charmaine Nieves (Mechanical Engineering). Get to know more about each scholar here.

The CBL award is given to women undergraduates in science, mathematics, and engineering who conduct research and intend to pursue graduate degrees in STEM. The CBL program, which leverages on the Illinois Scholars Undergraduate Research (ISUR) program infrastructure, has supported eight (8) undergraduate researchers each year since 2020. CBL scholars receive up to $12000 to do research in the summer, fall, and spring semesters and conference travel support to present their research at conferences. They work closely with their research mentors who may be faculty members, postdoctoral researchers, and/or graduate students. CBL mentors also receive $600 per semester to help defray the cost of research project related expenses and for professional development.

The CBL Research Scholars Program is funded by The Grainger College of Engineering and the Henry Luce Foundation.

Applications for the 2023-2024 cohort opens on January 15, 2023!

CookieSettings CookieSettings